If the served spouse does not respond in time, the divorce can be finalized by only one party. If your spouse will not leave the family home and thus initiate the separation, under 23 Pa. C.S. § 3502(c) you can file for exclusive possession of the family home.... read more ›
Divorce in Pennsylvania can take between 90 days and 12 months on average, depending on whether it is a fault or a no-fault one. The mandatory waiting period for a no-fault marriage dissolution is 90 days. The average contested divorce takes 5-12 months, and an uncontested one – around 4-6 months.... see more ›
There is a One-Year Waiting Period For Filing for a No-Fault Divorce. If a couple is seeking a divorce without establishing grounds for fault (discussed further below), then Pennsylvania law imposes a one-year waiting period from the time of separation before either spouse can file for divorce.... read more ›
As long as the spouse who is “served” the divorce papers does not deny that the spouses have been living apart for at least one year or that the marriage is irretrievably broken, the divorce may proceed even though only one party filed for divorce. Do both parties have to sign to get a divorce in PA? Not necessarily.... read more ›
The court needs to agree to grant the divorce, not the other person in the marriage. As long as the necessary financial and legal issues get resolved, the divorce can be completed with one person never agreeing to it. However, the negotiation of these issues does offer a potential block to completing the divorce.... see more ›
If the served spouse does not respond in time, the divorce can be finalized by only one party. If your spouse will not leave the family home and thus initiate the separation, under 23 Pa. C.S. § 3502(c) you can file for exclusive possession of the family home.... see more ›
When Both Individuals Live in Pennsylvania. If both you and your partner currently reside within the state, there is no true advantage to filing first. Even if you file first, the case will usually be held at the Court of Common Pleas in the defendant's county, or the county where you married, by default.... read more ›
Is it okay to date when you're separated? It is okay, providing you do it right. If you start seeing someone else before you and your spouse decide to divorce or before you physically separate, it is considered adultery.... read more ›
A spouse is entitled to alimony only if the court decides that alimony is “necessary.” To decide whether alimony is necessary, how much should be paid, and how long it should be paid, the court must consider many factors – including but not limited to the relative income and earning capacities of the parties, the ages ...... continue reading ›
No, there is no entitlement to alimony in Pennsylvania. Instead, it's purely discretionary with the court, and based on 17 factors listed in Section 3701 of the PA Divorce Code.... view details ›
False. While some states (most famously, California) mandate a 50/50 distribution of marital property, Pennsylvania does not. Pennsylvania is an equitable distribution state.... see more ›
Can one spouse stop a divorce from going through? If a plaintiff seeks a non-fault divorce either by consent or without consent, the defendant may prevent the divorce from being granted by proving that the parties have not lived separate and apart for at least one year or that the marriage is not irretrievably broken.... view details ›
Can my spouse refuse to divorce me ? In a nutshell, no, your spouse cannot prevent a divorce proceeding. If they refuse to cooperate, it will be necessary for you take some additional steps, such as using a court bailiff or a process server.... see details ›
If the wife is not ready for mutual divorce you can go for one sided divorce on cruelity basis. It will be filed under section 13 l i(a)of HMA. Also there are various other basis in HMA that you can opt for filing of one sided divorce.... view details ›
In short, if one person wants out of a marriage, he is legally able to do so, whether the other person agrees or not. This is a freedom that hasn't always been the case—prior to 1970, no-fault divorce laws didn't exist in the United States.... view details ›
Generally speaking, you're on your own for your legal fees. In certain cases wherein one party has a very good income and the other party is low or no income, it is possible to ask the Court to have the well-to-do party pay the other's legal fees.... see more ›
The formula used in the state of Pennsylvania states that the receiving spouse must receive 40 percent of the difference between the spouses' net incomes on a monthly basis. If the couple has children, the formula is altered to 30 percent of the net income difference.... see more ›
While there's no easy answer, a good rule of thumb is 1 year of alimony for every 3 years of marriage. If you've been married for 15 years, a good rule of thumb to think is about probably 5 years of alimony.... see details ›
Answer: There are no court rules or statutes that prevent a husband and wife from sleeping together before, during or after a divorce.... continue reading ›
You can expect approximately a $300 fee to file your divorce papers. There can be an additional cost between $150 and $1,500 in case you use the support of an online service.... see details ›
In Pennsylvania, any part of a pension or retirement benefit that was earned during the marriage is considered marital property.... see more ›
You Can Damage Your Child Custody Claim
One of the most significant ways moving out can influence your divorce is when it comes to child custody. If you move out, it means you don't spend as much time with your kids. Not only can this harm your relationship, but it can also damage your custody claim.... see more ›
Pennsylvania law recognizes adultery as a fault ground for divorce. The cheating spouse is at fault, due to his or her adulterous behavior, for the decision to divorce. When a divorce involves adultery, it can affect spousal support and alimony.... continue reading ›
To prove adultery via circumstantial evidence, one must show that the adulterous spouse had both the “disposition” to commit adultery and the “opportunity” to do so. Evidence of “disposition” includes photographs of the adulterous spouse and the other man or woman kissing or engaging in other acts of affection.... read more ›
1. You Need a Court Order to Divide a 401(k) Pulling money out of a 401(k) to finalize your divorce isn't something you can do on a whim. First, a judge has to sign off on a Qualified Domestic Relations Order, which confirms each spouse's right to a portion of the money.... read more ›
Pennsylvania operates as an equitable distribution state, which means that marital property is divided fairly between spouses. This does not mean that assets will be split evenly among the couple. Instead, the PA Divorce Code utilizes a number of factors to determine fairness in the property division process.... see more ›
Even during a separation, both of you are responsible for paying any joint debts such as your mortgage loan. It doesn't matter if only one of you continues to live in the home. You must still pay your mortgage lender regardless of being separated or filing for divorce.... continue reading ›
Alimony In PA
Income. The length of the marriage. The marital standard of living. Whether one spouse contributed to the other's education or increased earning power.... see details ›
- The relative earnings of both spouses.
- The duration of the marriage.
- The ages and physical, mental and emotional states of the two spouses.
- The sources of income of both spouses. ...
- The expected future earnings and inheritances of the two spouses.
Below are some of the factors a judge will examine:
If alimony can make it possible for the receiving party to maintain a lifestyle that is close to what the couple had during the marriage. The length of the marriage. The age and health of each spouse. The earning capacity of each spouse.... see details ›
Under Pennsylvania law, people are responsible for the debts incurred in their name alone. This law is advantageous, and the best way for spouses to avoid being on the hook for each other's debts after death is to avoid cosigning at all costs.... see more ›
In Pennsylvania, both spouses have a right to be in and/or on a marital property that is owned or rented jointly by the parties. Generally, courts will not evict one party from the residence if the parties appear to be residing together peacefully, albeit separately.... continue reading ›
Parents who are divorcing or divorced can work out their own custody arrangement as far as a daily or weekly schedule. Unless one parent files a Custody Complaint that directs otherwise, the Court will assume the parents will work out a custody schedule in the best interest of their children.... continue reading ›
Divorce Requirements in Pennsylvania
Second, you must be “separated” for one yearbefore you can file for divorce. If you are still living together, this can get a bit tricky, especially if you're still having marital relations and sleeping in the same bed.... see more ›
In Pennsylvania, abandonment is only considered grounds for divorce if the departing spouse has been gone for a minimum of one year. If the couple rekindles the relationship and resumes living together, even for a short amount of time, time restarts.... see more ›
In most states, your spouse does not have to grant you a divorce or agree to a divorce. Usually, one spouse reaches the decision first. In this scenario, that person is you. Even if a spouse doesn't want the divorce, most come to accept that the divorce is inevitable if one spouse is determined to divorce.... continue reading ›
- The First Step Is to Seek a Lawyer's Help. ...
- Serving the Papers. ...
- The Separation. ...
- Meet with a Lawyer. ...
- The Divorce Petition. ...
- Divorce Publication. ...
- Legal Support to Proceed with a Divorce When the Other Spouse Does Not Want to.
Also there are various other basis in Hindu Marriage Act that you can opt for filing of one sided divorce. So in case of divorce by mutual consent, it usually takes 18-24 months.... read more ›
So in case of divorce by mutual consent, it usually takes 18-24 months. In case of a contested divorce, the period is longer, ranging from three to five years because of complications and possibility that either party can challenge the decision in the High Court and Supreme Court.... see details ›
The divorce always is filed by one spouse against another , and on service to the other party and his/her failure to be present the case will be heard expartee i.e in absence of the other spouse. if there are sufficient grounds and evidence available the court shall grant divorce.... see details ›
What is the longest my divorce can take? A. There is no set time that a divorce must be completed by. However, if a judge notices that a divorce has been sitting in the system for close to a year, a hearing will likely be set to try and finalize any outstanding issues.... see details ›
The typical time for a 3301(c) Pennsylvania uncontested divorce, from the date of filing to the court granting a divorce decree is 3.5-4 months for PREMIUM service, 4-5 months for FAST service, and 5-6 months for NORMAL service. We do not control how long the court takes, so times are approximate.... see details ›
A number of reasons can cause this. Your spouse may want to delay things for financial gain. Your spouse may not want the divorce or simply wants to drag it out to punish you. Your spouse may just be difficult and cannot handle the process amicably.... read more ›
Other reasons a spouse may want to drag out a divorce include: They have financial concerns about their share of the assets. They're angry and want revenge. They hope to change their estranged spouse's mind.... see details ›
There are two processes in divorce.
The emotional process can be broken down into 5 stages: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance.... see more ›
The average cost of divorce in Pennsylvania state is approximately $14,300. The expenses can reach $21,500 if there are children or property involved. The average filing fees in Pennsylvania are $350.... continue reading ›
False. While some states (most famously, California) mandate a 50/50 distribution of marital property, Pennsylvania does not. Pennsylvania is an equitable distribution state.... read more ›
The formula used in the state of Pennsylvania states that the receiving spouse must receive 40 percent of the difference between the spouses' net incomes on a monthly basis. If the couple has children, the formula is altered to 30 percent of the net income difference.... read more ›
Narcissists Use the Same Tactics
One common tactic for the narcissist is dragging out the divorce. We will help you learn why and how best to respond. Another common tactic for the narcissist is doing everything possible to turn people against the other spouse. The best defense preparation is knowing this will happen.... see details ›
Key Takeaway About Beating a Narcissist in Family Court
Document everything with facts, dates, and copies of any communications. If other people witnessed your spouse's behavior, tell your lawyer immediately. Remain calm during each court appearance or meeting involving your spouse.... read more ›
Getting a narcissist to reveal themselves in court may be as easy as allowing them to talk about what a great parent they are to their children. Let them talk about how they spend time with the children doing homework, taking them to practice, and riding bicycles.... see details ›
Narcissists need love and admiration
Due to narcissists' need for love and affection, they may decline to get a divorce as they equate marriage with love. They won't see marital problems for what they are; instead, they may mistakenly think that this is how all marriages work.... see details ›
There is no such thing as an “automatic” divorce. You can apply for divorce on a number of grounds, two of those are based on separation of two years or more.... see more ›
This in-depth guide covers everything you need to know about divorce laws in Pennsylvania. Learn how the law impacts asset division, support, custody, and more.
Pennsylvania laws state that property inherited by one spouse during a marriage is separate and not subject to marital property rules.. Each spouse gets to keep his or her own separate property which includes:. For example, if one spouse makes $100,000 a year and the other spouse makes $50,000 and requests alimony, then the guidelines would work like this: $100,000 – $50,000 = $50,000.. The state uses official Pennsylvania Child Support guidelines to determine the specific amount of child support that should be awarded.. However, you can also file for divorce stating reasons for the divorce.. A court will not allow a parent to take custody of a child if there is a danger to the child, as there would be with drug or alcohol abuse being present.. When a spouse does not sign divorce forms or fails to provide information when requests for documentation are made, the other spouse can seek a default divorce.. Citing domestic violence as a reason for divorce will also have additional impacts when it comes to the issue of child custody.. As part of a settlement, a judge may order one spouse to pay for the other’s health insurance.
Divorce laws can be complicated. This page walks you through what you need to know about Pennsylvania divorce laws so you can better navigate a divorce.
In a fault divorce, one spouse alleges that the other spouse is to blame and is the reason for the divorce.. The judge may consider the following factors when dividing property in a divorce in Pennsylvania:. In Pennsylvania, the judge can order child support.. Earnings and earning capacity of each spouse Age and health of each spouse Income sources, including insurance Expected inheritances Length of the marriage Contributions of one spouse to the other’s education Impact of childcare duties on either spouse’s earnings Education level of each spouse Assets and liabilities Property brought to the marriage by each spouse Contributions of each spouse as a homemaker Needs of each party Marital misconduct during the marriage (this does not include behavior since the separation, except in cases of abuse) Tax ramifications Capability of the requesting spouse to support oneself. The same factors that the court uses to determine how to divide other marital property will apply to the division of retirement plans during divorce .. The court considers all property acquired during the marriage as marital property, and the judge will divide it during the divorce.. When going through a divorce, you might want to work with a financial advisor to stay on top of your finances.
Pennsylvania men's divorce attorneys provide answers to frequently asked questions about divorce in Pennsylvania and Pennsylvania divorce laws.
Pennsylvania men’s divorce attorneys provide answers to frequently asked questions about divorce in Pennsylvania and Pennsylvania divorce laws.. Yes, Pennsylvania divorce laws allow divorces based on marital fault.. A no fault divorce also requires that the couple have been separated for at least two years, or that they both agree to the divorce.. No-fault divorces require there to have been either (1) written and mutual consent by the parties that is made 90 days after the divorce complaint is served or (2) one year of separation (if the separation was on or after December 5, 2016).. After filing and during divorce proceedings, support is termed “alimony pendente lite,” a Latin phrase meaning “alimony pending litigation.” After the entry of a final divorce decree, support is available in the form of “alimony.”. According to Pennsylvania divorce laws, a party must wait for two full years of separation from their spouse and then may proceed with filing a unilateral divorce.
The timeline for divorce in PA depends on the approach the couple chooses as well as their assets, their ability to agree on the terms, and other factors.
Mutual consent divorce: Both spouses agree to the divorce, and each signs an affidavit saying the marriage is “irretrievably broken.” No-fault divorce: One spouse may file for divorce after a period of separation (see below).. Fault divorce: One spouse may file for a fault-based divorce based on one of six grounds.. Divorce after institutionalization: One spouse can file for divorce without a court hearing if the other spouse has been institutionalized for a mental disorder for 18 months.. Divorce after a personal injury: If one spouse has been convicted of a personal injury crime against the other, the court will presume the consent of that spouse to divorce.. Filing a fault divorce is much more complex than filing a no-fault divorce.. A spouse can file for divorce in PA without a court hearing if the other spouse is institutionalized for a mental disorder.. As of December 2016, the waiting period for filing a unilateral no-fault divorce – meaning only one of the spouses wants to divorce – decreased from two years of living separately to one year.. The spouses’ assets, including real estate, cars, businesses, and others The spouses’ debts, including outstanding loans, credit card debt, and others Whether the spouses filed a prenuptial agreement Whether the spouses have kids, and if they do, how old they are How quickly the court can review the terms of the divorce, hold hearings, and file any necessary orders. If a divorce is contested, meaning the spouses cannot agree to the terms of the divorce (or to divorce at all), the parties will need to take additional steps.
Learn about Pennsylvania divorce laws, including how fault affects the divorce, grounds for divorce, and how long your divorce will take.
county where the couple resided while married, if the filing spouse has lived there continuously since the separation county where filing spouse lives if other spouse agrees, or county where either spouse lives if neither spouse lives in the county where they lived during the marriage.. To obtain a no-fault divorce , you and your spouse must have been separated for two years before filing or you both must consent to the divorce.. the length of the marriage prior marriage of either spouse the age, health, education, employability, liabilities and needs of each of the spouses any contribution by one spouse to the education, training, or increased earning power of the other spouse the economic circumstances of each spouse, and whether one spouse will be serving as the custodian of any dependent minor children.. the spouses' earning capacities (ability to earn income based on education, skills, job history, and local employment opportunities) each spouse's age, and physical and emotional condition all sources of income the length of marriage the standard of living established during the marriage, and any marital misconduct of either spouse during the marriage.. As discussed above, you and your spouse must both consent to the divorce, or be separated for at least two years before you can seek a no-fault divorce.. If you file for a no-fault divorce, and both spouses consent to the divorce and submit affidavits (written declarations) showing their consent, it will take 90 days before the divorce can be granted.. While there is no mandatory waiting period in fault divorces, these kinds of divorces usually take longer because they require a spouse to prove the other's fault at trial .
This guide by Worthy.com supplies everything you need to know about divorce in Pennsylvania from filing to resources to their associated costs.
The receiving court official will stamp the date and time on the documents when they are accepted.. If the other party lives outside Pennsylvania, the complainant has ninety days to complete service.. The person who completes the personal service must sign Pennsylvania’s Affidavit of Service by Personal Service.. If serving the other party by mail, the complainant must complete Pennsylvania’s Affidavit of Service by Mail stating that the required forms have been sent.. No matter how quickly the service procedure has been completed, Pennsylvania’s divorce laws require both parties to wait ninety days from the date of service to file consent forms called “Affidavit of Consent.” Both Affidavit of Consent forms must be filed within thirty days of the date they were signed and dated.. If both parties sign the Waiver of Notice form, then either spouse has the option of immediately filing a Praecipe to Transmit Record, and the file will be sent to a judge for completion.. After the applicable time period has passed, either spouse may sign and file an Affidavit Under Section 3301(d) of the Pennsylvania Divorce Code.. In 2019, Worthy conducted a study on how divorce women approach divorce and dating in today’s world.. 59% of divorced women meet dates on online dating websites or apps.. Parties who present filings that contain errors are required to re-file under Pennsylvania divorce law, so the process takes far longer than necessary and costs far more in legal fees.
What happens if one of the spouses want to end their marriage and the other doesn't? Read on to find out can you refuse to get divorced from your spouse.
But what happens if one of the spouses want to end their marriage and the other doesn’t?. Can you refuse to get divorced?. So, who gets preference when one party wants a divorce, and the other doesn’t?. Their objective is to make you look like the devil incarnate so their petition will be approved with the most favorable terms for them.. A no-fault divorce means that the petitioner is not blaming you for the divorce and may be willing to go through mediation to fairly divide the family assets (including the house, kids, and pets).. Can you refuse to get divorced this way?. This is why you need a good lawyer and prepare to go to court .. But something can be done, You will need to start calling pro-bono family lawyers who specialize in this sort of thing.. But if the petition says you are the devil incarnate and the other party is not willing to go through mediation, then don’t worry about it.. You would have to prove that you are doing it in good faith and don’t mutilate dogs for dinner first.. If you are the martyr type, remember that it is perfectly legal to marry the same person again.. Can you refuse to get divorced?
Sometimes, divorce is the only answer. But there are times when your wife won't want a divorce. Here's how to divorce your wife, even if she doesn't want to.
But there are times when your wife won’t want a divorce.. No one takes the decision to divorce lightly – but what do you do when both spouses don’t agree on whether the decision is right?. Many times, both parties agree that divorce is the best option.. But if you want a divorce and your wife doesn’t, you’ll find yourself wondering how to divorce your wife when she doesn’t agree.. The court needs to agree to grant the divorce, not the other person in the marriage.. As long as the necessary financial and legal issues get resolved, the divorce can be completed with one person never agreeing to it.. When your wife won’t cooperate, you may think the best option is to hire a lawyer for litigation .. To make things as painless as possible, you can start by having a conversation with your wife.. What should you say when you want to divorce your wife?. If you have children, make it clear that a divorce with minimal fighting is best for them.. Your wife may not want a divorce, but if she cooperates with the process, the children will be better for it.. Every state also offers some kind of no-fault divorce .. Then you’ll have to start the lengthy process over again.. If your spouse doesn’t respond to the divorce petition at all, you’ll need to get ready for trial.. When you want a divorce and your wife doesn’t, you’ll almost always need a great lawyer on your side.
Experienced Pittsburgh Divorce Attorney. CALL 412-371-4500 FOR YOUR FREE CONSULTATION READ MORE ARTICLES ABOUT FAMILY LAW IN PENNSYLVANIA. READ THE REVIEWS on Google, Facebook …
There are many reasons for a spouse to refuse to sign divorce papers.. In an earlier article , I wrote about Pennsylvania’s two no-fault grounds : Mutual Consent, and Irretrievable Breakdown.. The first of these, Mutual Consent, absolutely requires that both you and your spouse sign documents agreeing to obtain a divorce decree some time after a mandatory 90-day waiting period has expired.. As the name itself implies, either spouse can bring a Mutual Consent divorce process to a screeching halt simply by refusing to sign the consent forms.. A divorce decree based on the ground of Irretrievable Breakdown requires the court to agree that two things are true: first, that the marriage is irretrievably broken and second, that you and your spouse have been separated for one or more years.. Many people in Pennsylvania mistakenly think that divorce is automatic after a separation has lasted for a full year, but it is important for you to understand that where family law is concerned very little happens by itself in the court system.. Instead, once you have reached the first anniversary of your final separation you can sign an affidavit stating the date on which you separated, and that the marriage is irretrievably broken.. If your spouse has been properly served with all the necessary documents and then does nothing for a long enough time, the court will assume that your affidavit is true, and will grant your divorce decree shortly after you file the final documents asking for it.. Can my spouse still fight a divorce in Pennsylvania even after one year?. If your husband or wife claims that the marriage is not irretrievably broken or that you have not yet been separated for the full period required by PA law, the court cannot agree with the claims made in your affidavit until the court has heard both sides of the story at a formal hearing.. After we served her husband with the divorce paperwork, he filed a response insisting that the marriage was not irretrievably broken.. What about fault divorce?. Among the reasons: first, because marital misconduct can be expensive and hard to prove; second, because the spouse proving fault generally must also prove that he or she is “innocent and injured” in what often turns into a he said/she said battle of finger-pointing; and third, because if there is a no-fault ground also available, the court will always prefer it over a fault ground.. We try to be responsive to commentary and questions, but know that posting here will not create an attorney/client relationship and that we will not offer legal advice via the Internet.
Pennsylvania is a no-fault state. First file in court, then draft an agreement with your spouse (uncontested) or go to court if the divorce is contested.
For a divorce in Pennsylvania, your spouse or you must have lived in the state at least 6 months before applying for a divorce.. The Divorce Code in Pennsylvania was amended in 2005 and now allows divorce on “fault”, as well as “no-fault” grounds.. So, most couples usually opt for a “no-fault” divorce that is by mutual consent of both spouses or by action taken by one spouse, where both spouses have lived separately for a period of 1 year.. If you agree with your spouse that you want a divorce, then you can apply for divorce by mutual consent.. In the case that your spouse or you want a divorce and the other does not, then the plaintiff can go ahead with the divorce process even without the consent of the other person, if both of you have been separated for a period of at least 2 years before you can file for divorce.. The third way to get a divorce in Pennsylvania is when the plaintiff states that the defendant is the cause for the failure of their marriage in the divorce complaint.. This is the 1st step of the divorce process and the Divorce Complaint is essentially a legal document which when filed with the court starts the legal divorce process.. Complaint in Divorce: This form requests the court to get your divorce on record.. In the case of a Pennsylvania contested divorce, if your spouse and you are unable to come to an agreement on issues such as division of marital property, child custody and support, alimony, etc., then both your spouse and you will have to hire attorneys who will present your case before the county court.. An uncontested divorce in Pennsylvania means that there’s no dispute between your spouse and you regarding the various issues pertaining to the divorce i.e. property division, child custody and support, spousal support, alimony, etc.. You can file for divorce under the no-fault “mutual consent” grounds, which essentially means that both of you agree to the divorce on basis of the fact that your marriage is irretrievably broken.. Typically, spousal support is applicable before filing the divorce complaint, although it may continue while the divorce is pending in court.. Once you file for divorce in the court, it will take around 90 days for the divorce to be finalized.
770-609-1247 | While it has been our experience that spouses will usually agree to sign uncontested divorce paperwork. Divorce Attorneys Georgia
In the unfortunate event that your spouse refuses to agree and sign uncontested divorce paperwork then you will need to file your case in a legal proceeding known as a contested divorce.. To file a contested divorce, the party wanting the divorce must acquire the correct legal petition and file the petition in the family court of their legal jurisdiction.. At the time of filing the divorce case, only the party filing the complaint for divorce (request for divorce) will be required to sign the paperwork.. Again, in obtaining legally sufficient service of the divorce document on their spouse, the party filing the divorce paperwork must use either a sheriff or a private process server to deliver the divorce documents to the opposing party.. There are many reasons why a party may refuse to sign an uncontested divorce, but a common reason that many refuse to sign is due to the filing of fault divorce pleadings that place the blame of the divorce on them.. Another reason a spouse may not sign uncontested divorce paperwork is because he or she does not understand the process and is afraid to sign the uncontested divorce paperwork.. The No Fault Divorce Option allows for the spouses to file their uncontested divorce with the reason given being “irreconcilable differences.” This option eliminates offensive language and prevents one party from being placed at fault for the divorce.. A default divorce proceeding will allow for the divorce to take place and will often grant the filing spouse’s original terms for the divorce, subject to the court’s approval.. If you truly want an uncontested divorce, do not surprise your spouse with the divorce paperwork.. The uncontested divorce option is something that should be discussed thoroughly by both spouses and both should reach an agreement prior to the signing and filing of the initial petition for divorce.
Things can get stressful if things didn’t end well after a divorce, especially if your ex doesn’t follow the divorce decree. Here’s what to do.
Upon getting a divorce, ex-spouses can reasonably expect obligations outlined in the divorce decree to be honored.. Once the marriage legally ends through divorce proceedings, the court issues a divorce decree.. Noncompliance with the court-issued decree may be handled by first referring to the decree to determine the ex-spouse’s responsibilities and then pursuing enforcement through the courts.. The ex-spouse who violates the terms of the divorce decree without approaching the court for modification is in contempt of the court (which means the individual is guilty of disobedience to the courts).. The court that issued the decree has the power to enforce all aspects of the divorce decree.. Respond to the violation of the terms of the divorce decree by filing a motion for contempt of court.. The court clerk will help to determine whether the injured ex-spouse should file a motion for civil contempt of court, motion for enforcement or an alternate action.. The motion indicates which parts of the divorce decree were violated and the reason the ex-spouse should be held in contempt of court.. Our firm of dedicated divorce attorneys will also assist you in the event your ex-spouse violates the terms of the divorce decree.. Tags: divorce attorney , divorce decree , divorce lawyer
Can you be forced to sell your house in a divorce? Short answer: It depends. This guide covers all the important considerations that you need to know.
Whether you’ll be forced to sell the house in divorce (or can force your ex to sell the house) depends on your individual circumstances.. Most couples are forced to sell their home outright in divorce either when one spouse is not able to buy the other one’s interest or when spouses cannot agree on the value of the house and the only way to settle the issue is to sell the home for what the market will bear.. Many spouses choose to simply sell the house outright immediately and split the net equity generated by the sale.. In cases where there are enough resources, one spouse can actually keep the property through a buy-out of the other spouse’s interest in the home.. Typically, this will require the spouse who keeps the home (known as the in-spouse) to come up with a lump sum to pay off the spouse who is selling (known as the out-spouse).. Instead of selling, if one spouse wants to keep the house and can afford to do so, there are a couple of ways to go about that process.. If you agree to co-own a house after the divorce, then both spouses meet the ownership requirement.. Many people assume that if only one person was using the home and five years pass, then the spouse not living in the home will not meet the primary residence requirement.. However, as long as the in-spouse is awarded exclusive use of the house as part of a final settlement agreement or a separation agreement, they the out-spouse can be treated as if they had also used the house as their primary residence as well.
What You Need to Know About Spousal Abandonment | Divorce and Your Money | Avoid Costly Divorce Mistakes. ›
Walking away from a bad marriage can cause more problems than it solves. Here's what you should know about spousal abandonment.
He or she has, in effect, walked away from the family and all related financial obligations and support without a good reason.. And the abandoning spouse remains responsible for both child and spousal support.. A spouse who leaves the marital home after an argument and remains gone for days or even weeks has not legally abandoned the spouse if he or she returns.. Both the abandoned spouse, as well as the abandoning spouse, will feel the financial effects of spousal abandonment.. Even if there were problems in the marriage, at least the spouse was there, at home.. In some states, the time period can be up to two years.. A parent has an obligation to care and provide for his or her children.. When this does not happen, the custodial parent (usually the abandoned spouse) can petition the court for sole custody and termination of parental rights of the abandoning spouse and parent.. As in the case of “just cause” spousal abandonment, the custodial parent must provide proof that the child has indeed been abandoned, neglected, or abused.. Once this happens, parental rights may be terminated, and the abandoning spouse and parent will no longer be responsible for the child’s financial support.. Property rights in cases of marital abandonment vary from state to state.. In some states, even if a man remains in the same house but does not support his family, the court may consider this constructive abandonment and consider it as grounds for divorce.. If a marriage has reached the state where communication is no longer possible, a legal separation as a route to a divorce is invariably the better course of action.
What is an uncontested divorce in PA, whether you are eligible, how to get an uncontested divorce, requirements to file for divorce, and best process for you.
An uncontested divorce in PA can occur when both spouses agree to get a divorce and then fill out the necessary paperwork.. It should be known that in PA, there are other names for this uncontested divorce process that are often utilized.. File the complaint by filling out all necessary legal paperwork Notify your spouse by sending them a copy of the filed papers Discuss the terms of the marital settlement, either with or without the help of a trained mediator Agree to the terms of the divorce by signing an affidavit or a consent form Finalize the divorce by filling out a form called the Praecipe to Transmit record, and having the judge review and finalize the terms of the divorce. During the uncontested divorce process you have multiple options which include mediation and independent filing .. If you or your spouse feel that you can agree on the terms of the divorce without the need for mediation, then independent filing might be right for you.. However, if there are aspects of the marital settlement that you disagree on, then a divorce mediator might be able to help you and your spouse sort through that agreement in an amicable way.