What are the steps to divorce in Michigan? [Solved] (2022)

Table of Contents

What are the steps to divorce in Michigan?

10 Steps of the Michigan Divorce Process
  1. Determine Eligibility to File for a Divorce. ...
  2. File a Complaint. ...
  3. Answer Complaint. ...
  4. A Temporary Order is Issued. ...
  5. The Discovery Phase Begins. ...
  6. Begin Negotiations. ...
  7. Mediation. ...
  8. Appearing in Court.

(Video) Michigan Divorce Process (Divorce Steps)
(The Daniel Findling Law Firm, PLC)

How long does the divorce process take in Michigan?

Typically, most divorces in Michigan take 60 days to nine months, without children. On the other hand, when children are involved it typically takes between six months and a year to reach a settlement.... read more ›

(Video) Overview of the Divorce Process for Plaintiffs
(Michigan Legal Help)

What is the divorce process in Michigan?

You or Your Spouse Must Be a Resident

Either you or your spouse must have lived in Michigan for at least the last 180 days before filing. You must file your divorce in circuit court in the county where either you or your spouse has lived for at least ten days before filing.... view details ›

(Video) The Divorce Process in Michigan Explained
(Bloomfield Family Law Firm)

What happens after divorce papers are filed in Michigan?

There will be decisions in your case about custody, parenting time, and child support. Marital property and debt will be divided, and spousal support may be ordered. If you file a complaint for separate maintenance and your spouse files a counterclaim for divorce, the judge must consider the case a divorce.... see more ›

(Video) What to expect in the [divorce process] in Michigan?
(Goldman And Associates Michigan Law Firm)

How much does it cost to file for a divorce in Michigan?

The filing fee for a Michigan divorce petition is $175.00 if you do not have minor children. The filing fee for a divorce with minor children is $255.00. A divorce attorney or party filing the complaint will pay the fee at the time of filing.... see details ›

(Video) Outlining The Michigan Divorce Process
(Goldman And Associates Michigan Law Firm)

Is Michigan a 50/50 divorce state?

No. Michigan divides marital property using the theory of "equitable distribution". Community property states attempt to distribute property as close to a 50-50 split as possible. Equitable distribution states divide property based on a determination of what's fair under the circumstances of each case.... see more ›

(Video) Michigan Law Now: 14 Tips When Going Through a Divorce
(Michigan Law Show)

Does it matter who files for divorce first in Michigan?

No, from a legal perspective, it does not matter who files first for divorce in Michigan. However, filing first does present an opportunity for the initiating party to request various orders to the court before your spouse is notified of the divorce proceedings.... view details ›

(Video) How To Initiate A Divorce In Michigan - Call (248) 588-3333
(Goldman And Associates Michigan Law Firm)

Why is there a 6 month waiting period for divorce in Michigan?

The waiting period allows the couple time to explore the possibility of reconciliation. A fair number of divorce filings do not result in a final judgment of divorce.... see more ›

(Video) How to File for Divorce in Michigan
(DFWN PLC)

Is dating during separation adultery in Michigan?

Michigan is a no-fault divorce state, which means that neither divorcing partner needs to prove that the other is “at-fault” for causing the divorce. Nevertheless, if you dated someone else or cheated on your spouse during your marriage, or if you date during the divorce, fault may matter.... view details ›

(Video) Michigan Divorce Rules - Michigan Lawyers
(Goldman And Associates Michigan Law Firm)

Can a judge deny a divorce in Michigan?

There is a common trope in movies and TV shows about spouses chasing each other to have “divorce papers” signed to make it final. Can a spouse “refuse to sign” and stop a divorce in Michigan. The answer is generally no. A divorce, like any other civil filing, is a lawsuit that is served on the other party.... read more ›

(Video) What do I need to start the divorce process in Michigan?
(The Fiorletta Law Group, PLLC)

What happens at the first divorce hearing?

STEP 1: Filing of petition by the husband or wife. STEP 2: Court issues summons and seeks reply from the other spouse. STEP 3: Court may suggest reconciliation. STEP 4: Examination and cross-examination of witnesses and evidence.... see details ›

(Video) DIVORCE TIPS IN MICHIGAN
(Vonda Evans)

How does spousal support work in Michigan?

There is no formula for calculating spousal support in Michigan. Spousal support is decided entirely by the court after evaluating 12 factors. These include each spouse's age, health, needs, and earning capacity; each party's conduct and contributions during the marriage; how the marital property was divided; and more.... view details ›

What are the steps to divorce in Michigan? [Solved] (2022)

Can I file for divorce without a lawyer in Michigan?

It is possible to get a divorce in Michigan without using a lawyer as long as you meet all requirements for an uncontested divorce. You and your spouse must agree on all parts of the settlement, including asset division, alimony, child custody and support and all other related matters.... see more ›

Who pays for divorce in Michigan?

The Michigan Compiled Laws Section 552.13(1) statute requires you to pay your spouse's attorney fees.... see more ›

Do I have to go to court for uncontested divorce?

Unlike a contested divorce, there is no formal trial during an uncontested divorce, only the plaintiff appears in court. A settlement agreement is then drafted, entered into by both parties, and made an order of the court.... continue reading ›

What is the average retainer fee for a divorce lawyer in Michigan?

Most divorce attorneys will charge between $100 and $500 per hour. Often, lawyers will ask for a retainer, otherwise known as an up-front fee. The retainer is an advance payment for their hourly rates, and they can range from as little as $1,000 to as high as $10,000.... read more ›

Who makes house payment during divorce?

Everything that you and your spouse purchase and/or acquire over the course of your marriage is marital property – regardless of who makes the purchase, whose name is on the deed, or who makes the payments. The very few exceptions to this rule include: Inheritances made in one spouse's name alone.... see details ›

Is spouse entitled to 401k in divorce in Michigan?

Retirement Accounts in a Divorce

Your investments and retirement accounts will likely be split like any other assets in your divorce. In Michigan, they would be separated equitably, which does not necessarily mean 50-50. Instead, they may be split according to what the court deems fair and equitable.... see more ›

Can your spouse take your 401k in a divorce?

1. You Need a Court Order to Divide a 401(k) Pulling money out of a 401(k) to finalize your divorce isn't something you can do on a whim. First, a judge has to sign off on a Qualified Domestic Relations Order, which confirms each spouse's right to a portion of the money.... see details ›

How long after divorce can you remarry in Michigan?

Some states require all couples to wait up to 6 days to receive a marriage license.
...
State waiting times for remarriage after divorce.
To remarry after divorceTo apply for a marriage license
MichiganNo restrictions3 days
MinnesotaNo restrictions5 days
MississippiNo restrictionsNo restrictions
MissouriNo restrictions3 days
47 more rows
Dec 4, 2015

How long do you have to be married to collect alimony in Michigan?

Some people believe that you have to be married at least ten years to receive spousal support or alimony in Michigan. This is also untrue. There is no specific number of years that one must be married to receive spousal support in Michigan.... view details ›

How long do you have to be married to get half in Michigan?

After 10 or more years of marriage, an ex-spouse may collect benefits equal to half the benefits being paid to the other spouse, but this does not limit a court or parties from using one spouse's social security payments to provide additional child or spousal support as part of a divorce in Michigan to the other spouse ...... see details ›

Can I file for divorce while living in the same house?

Yes you can file divorce. You need a custody of your daughter so you can filed a cusody case at concerned family court, court will also ask to your daughter where she wants to stay with father ot mother. No issues you are staying together at same house you can file divorce case.... continue reading ›

Can you date while getting divorced?

There is no legal reason why a person cannot start dating before their divorce is final. All jurisdictions in the United States will allow a couple to divorce without having to establish fault on the part of one of the parties.... continue reading ›

How long does it take to get an uncontested divorce in Michigan?

At a minimum, it will take at least three months for an uncontested divorce in Michigan. This assumes one spouse files paperwork and has paperwork served, which starts the 20-day response period, and there are no children in the marriage, triggering a two-month waiting period.... see more ›

Can you go to jail for adultery in Michigan?

The Crime of Adultery in Michigan

While some argue that the law is archaic, adultery is considered a felony in Michigan. Generally speaking, felonies in the state are punishable by at least one year in jail. According to the statute, anyone who commits adultery while they are still married has committed a crime.... read more ›

Can you go to jail for cheating on your spouse in Michigan?

The crime of adultery and Michigan divorce law.

Cheating on your spouse in Michigan is a felony. Typically, felonies are crimes punishable by a minimum of one year in jail. Contrary to popular belief, adultery is still a crime in Michigan, however application of the statute can lead to an absurd and unfair result.... see more ›

What proof do you need to prove adultery?

To prove adultery via circumstantial evidence, one must show that the adulterous spouse had both the “disposition” to commit adultery and the “opportunity” to do so. Evidence of “disposition” includes photographs of the adulterous spouse and the other man or woman kissing or engaging in other acts of affection.... see more ›

What happens if one spouse refuses to divorce?

If your spouse fails to answer your petition of divorce by the deadline, or simply refuses to answer, you can request the judge grant your divorce by default. In a default judgment, the judge can grant the requests outlined in your divorce petition.... view details ›

Can a spouse refuse a divorce in Michigan?

The truth of the matter is, your spouse cannot stop you from getting a divorce in Michigan. You do not have to get your spouse's consent or prove marital misconduct because Michigan has no-fault divorce. No matter how much your spouse wants to stay married, you do not have to remain in the marriage.... view details ›

How do you play dirty in a divorce?

Top 10 Dirtiest Divorce Tricks
  1. Serving Papers with the Intent to Embarrass. You're angry with your spouse, and you want to humiliate him or her. ...
  2. Taking Everything. ...
  3. Canceling Credit Cards. ...
  4. Clearing Our Your Bank Accounts. ...
  5. Starving Out the Other Spouse. ...
  6. Refusing to Cooperate. ...
  7. Jeopardizing Employment. ...
  8. Meddling in an Affair.
Aug 15, 2017

What happens in family court divorce?

When a court passes a divorce decree, it brings an end to the matrimonial alliance of spouses and therefore terminates all the marriage. Along with the separation of husband and wife, it also involves the division of property, assets, and the issue of custody of the child.... see details ›

How do u file for divorce?

To begin the divorce process, one spouse must file a document called "Original Petition for Divorce" or "Letter of Complaint" with your local court clerk. This document is a formal request for the termination of the marriage.... see details ›

What is the average alimony payment in Michigan?

The program favored by Michigan judges assigns up to 30 percent of the possible score to the duration of the marriage when calculating the score of the spouse seeking alimony. After a decades-long marriage, especially if she never worked, she might receive a 30 score.... continue reading ›

What determines if a spouse gets alimony?

Below are some of the factors a judge will examine:

If alimony can make it possible for the receiving party to maintain a lifestyle that is close to what the couple had during the marriage. The length of the marriage. The age and health of each spouse. The earning capacity of each spouse.... see details ›

Can a working wife get alimony?

Alimony to working women

Women who even after working and earning are unable to bear their expenses and fulfill their necessities can claim alimony from their husbands. However, the Court takes into consideration certain matters before passing the order to direct the husband to pay the amount of alimony.... see more ›

How much does a uncontested divorce cost in Michigan?

How much Does it Cost to Get a Divorce in Michigan? In Michigan, the average cost for a non-contested divorce can range from $1,200 to $1,500 with court filing fees and other legal documents. If your divorce is contested the costs can dramatically increase with a base price starting at $5,000.... view details ›

How do I get a free divorce in Michigan?

If you can't afford to pay the filing fees, you may ask the judge to waive the fees by filing a Fee Waiver Request. You can fill out the form yourself or use Michigan Legal Help's interactive tool to help you complete it. If the court grants your request, you won't have to pay any court costs during your divorce.... read more ›

How long do you have to be separated before divorce is automatic?

There is no legal time limit on when you can start divorce proceedings, so long as you have been married for one year. However, the amount of time you must wait depends on the grounds for your divorce. If you can prove adultery or unreasonable behaviour, then you can begin as soon as you separate.... see details ›

How much does a divorce cost in Michigan with a lawyer?

On average, Michigan divorce lawyers charge between $225 and $270 per hour. Average total costs for Michigan divorce lawyers are $9,500 to $11,300 but typically are significantly lower in cases with no contested issues.... see details ›

What happens when you divorce and you own a home together?

Generally, your marital home will be part of the marital property to be divided in your divorce. However, a home may be considered one spouse's “separate property” if: One spouse owned the home prior to the marriage. You avoided using marital funds to pay for the mortgage, repairs, or improvements.... see details ›

What documents are needed for divorce?

What Documents do I Need to File for Divorce?
  • Copy of Your ID Document and/or Passport,
  • Proof of Your Income Tax Number (Salary Slips / Tax Return) and.
  • Proof of Your Residential Address.
Jun 1, 2017
... see details ›

What does uncontested mean?

Definition of uncontested

: not disputed or challenged : not contested the uncontested winner an uncontested election an uncontested divorce an uncontested layup in basketball.... continue reading ›

How long does divorce process take?

There are two types of divorces, contested and uncontested divorce. The uncontested divorce is the best and most cost effective for all parties concerned. It can be finalised within 4 weeks. If a divorce is contested it may take between 2 - 3 years, but most contested divorces do settle long before they go on trial.... see details ›

Why is there a 6 month waiting period for divorce in Michigan?

The waiting period allows the couple time to explore the possibility of reconciliation. A fair number of divorce filings do not result in a final judgment of divorce.... continue reading ›

Is it better to file for divorce first in Michigan?

Does it matter who files for divorce first in Michigan? No, from a legal perspective, it does not matter who files first for divorce in Michigan.... continue reading ›

How long does it take to get served divorce papers in Michigan?

If they were personally served, they have 21 days from the date of service. If they were served by mail or outside of Michigan, they have 28 days. What if your spouse refuses to answer the complaint within the time given (or simply fails to do so)?... see more ›

Why is there a 6 month waiting period for divorce in Michigan?

The waiting period allows the couple time to explore the possibility of reconciliation. A fair number of divorce filings do not result in a final judgment of divorce.... continue reading ›

How long does an uncontested divorce in Michigan take?

At a minimum, it will take at least three months for an uncontested divorce in Michigan. This assumes one spouse files paperwork and has paperwork served, which starts the 20-day response period, and there are no children in the marriage, triggering a two-month waiting period.... see details ›

Can you date while separated in Michigan?

Dating while divorcing in Michigan will not necessarily harm you legally, but it can impact aspects of your divorce. A new relationship, even if the relationship did not contribute to the breakdown of the marriage, can taint property division and child custody arrangements.... see more ›

How long does it take for court to issue divorce petition?

The Petition

Once the petition has been sent to the court it will be given a case number and copies will be sent to the other party. This is known as issuing. Generally speaking it takes two to three weeks for the court to issue the divorce papers and send them out.... continue reading ›

You might also like

Popular posts

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Jonah Leffler

Last Updated: 01/22/2023

Views: 6392

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (45 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jonah Leffler

Birthday: 1997-10-27

Address: 8987 Kieth Ports, Luettgenland, CT 54657-9808

Phone: +2611128251586

Job: Mining Supervisor

Hobby: Worldbuilding, Electronics, Amateur radio, Skiing, Cycling, Jogging, Taxidermy

Introduction: My name is Jonah Leffler, I am a determined, faithful, outstanding, inexpensive, cheerful, determined, smiling person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.